Policy & Procedures: Services

The Learning Commons is committed to providing quality reference services to the students, faculty, and staff of BPCC. Librarians are available to assist with every step of the research process and ensure that users have access to accurate and quality information resources for that research.

The mission of the Tutoring Center (TC) is to enhance students’ academic skills by providing high quality instructional support services. The TC strives to assist all learners at all levels in achieving academic success, gaining self-confidence, and becoming independent learners. The TC continues to search for new services and programs to enhance educational support for students while remaining focused on BPCC’s mission.

Tutoring services are available for BPCC, high school, and other local college students for no cost. To use the tutoring service, the user must present a current student ID. On-campus appointments cannot be scheduled in advance, as the Tutoring Center operates on a walk-in basis. The TC also offers remote tutoring which can be scheduled through the Appointment Module.

The BPCC Learning Commons' mission is to support the academic progress and interests of the students, faculty, staff, and administration of Bossier Parish Community College.  As such, the BPCC community may be provided with service before non-BPCC users.

Responsibilities of the Student

Students who use the tutoring service have the responsibility to:

• Be prepared by bringing all academic support materials to each tutoring session (textbook, notes, homework, pen/pencil, etc.).
• Complete as much of the assignment as possible before coming to the tutoring session. Tutors will help students do their work by asking questions to help them think through problems.
• Get help early.  It is bad practice to wait until the last minute before walking into the Tutoring Center for help.
• Be mindful of others. Cell phones should be muted and calls need to be taken outside the Tutoring Center.
• Follow Learning Commons policies.

What to expect from a Tutoring Session

• During busy times, tutors may get a student started, then help someone else, and come back around. If a tutor forgets to return, the Tutoring Center asks to please give them a courteous reminder. 

Tutors Can:

• Review and help clarify assignments.
• Help students understand concepts that the instructor has already presented in class.
• Provide students with additional examples and practice problems.
• Help students understand their textbook and how to utilize the information.

Tutors Cannot:

• Teach new material missed in class. Tutoring is not a substitution for classroom instruction.  
• Help with take-home or make-up tests. Tutors cannot help students on computers in the “Test” section of My Math Lab Plus.
• Always give assistance at the computer stations. Most of the one-on-one tutoring takes place at the tables.  
• Guarantee an error-free assignment or a better grade. It is always the student’s responsibility to complete and turn in their assignments.
• Tutors cannot do a student’s homework.

Orientations are provided by the Electronic Resources Manager/Instructional Librarian upon request of faculty. Learning Commons orientations are meant to inform students of the Learning Commons’ resources, materials, facilities, policies, procedures, or subject-specific research. Faculty can schedule reservations using the classroom booking tool on the Learning Commons website.

The Learning Commons also encourages faculty to bring classes to library spaces for special instruction, research, or project needs. Faculty may reserve a classroom or a section of the 1st floor of the library to offer special instruction or computer time. Reservations for class time can also be made through the classroom booking tool on the Learning Commons website. 

Policies for Orientations and Class Time:

1. Orientations are provided at the request of instructors and only after scheduling a reservation using the classroom booking tool on the Learning Commons website.

2. Orientations are typically conducted by the Electronic Resources Manager / Instructional Librarian but may be conducted by another librarian or the Dean of Learning Resources. 

3. Orientations can be general or tailored to specific assignments and course-related materials. 

4. Reservations must be booked at least 48 hours before the scheduled time of the orientation. 

5. Orientations typically last about forty minutes. Instructors are asked to discuss time constraints with the librarian prior to meeting.  

6. Instructors are asked to attend library instructional sessions and scheduled library class time with their classes. 

7. Instructors are still in charge of their classes and should maintain order if the need arises. 

8. The librarian leading the class will notify the Dean of Learning Resources of any issues or concerns pertaining to students or instructors that may arise during an orientation. 

9. Orientations will not be given during the first and final two weeks of the semester. 

10. Orientations are available to public groups as well as to groups of students. 

11. Virtual Orientations conducted remotely are available. Please see Electronic Resources.

Librarians and Tutoring Center Staff are available to conduct tours of the Learning Commons. This service is available to students and faculty, as well as members of the public. Please contact the Learning Commons prior to ensure availability.

The Learning Commons maintains an active online presence through the BPCC website, LibGuides, and various social media platforms. The Learning Commons homepage serves as the hub for users to access the catalog, databases, Subject Guides, tutorials, and online services, as well as contact information, current events, and news pertaining to the Learning Commons. All aspects of the Learning Commons online presence and accounts are administered by the Electronic Resources Manager/Instructional Librarian.

The Learning Commons’ collection and resources are accessible via the Learning Commons homepage through the online catalog. With the catalog, users can search the entirety of the library’s holdings and database holdings due to the catalog’s integration with EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS). The catalog may also be used to place holds, view reserve items, and check personal accounts of books and bills. Through the “My Account” link, users can manage their holds and reserves, view current checkouts and renew items, and view outstanding fees and payment history. Users can login to their accounts with their library user IDs (usually their LOLA numbers or 100 numbers) and their 6-digit birthdate PIN.

Social Media

The Learning Commons uses social media to communicate with the BPCC campus community regarding events and resources and to engage with and promote its users and staff. The Learning Commons maintains an active presence on Instagram @BPCCLearningCommons and at Facebook.com/BPCCLearningCommons. Librarians post content regularly and are available to respond to comments and direct messages during normal operating hours.

Subject Guides

Subject Guides are developed in-house by librarians to aid students in the research of a particular subject area. Subject Guides cover a wide range of topics relevant to courses taught at BPCC and contain information on research, database recommendations, citation and plagiarism, career planning, tutorials and walkthroughs, and instructions on how to contact the Learning Commons.

Electronic Resources

Databases

To support the research goals of the institution, the Learning Commons provides students and faculty access to a variety of scholarly databases accessible via the ‘Databases’ link on the Learning Commons homepage. This page houses an A-Z list of all databases along with a list of popular databases and new or trial databases. Users have the option to perform a keyword search on the database list, or to filter the list by Subject, Database Type, or Vendors/Providers. 

E-books

The Learning Commons’ online catalog includes access to Electronic Books (E-books). 

Remote Services

The Learning Commons provides a number of virtual services for remote users. Librarians are available during normal operating hours to respond to reference requests via email or chat. By using the Appointments Module, users may book a video reference appointment or research orientation with a librarian or they may book a video tutoring appointment with the Tutoring Center.

Additionally, faculty may also book a virtual research or library orientation for their class. Video appointments are conducted through video conferencing software and users have the option to join the meeting with audio and video or audio alone.

Video Conferencing Guidelines: 

1. Video conference will be used for BPCC Learning Commons educational purposes only.

2. Video conferencing is available to current BPCC students, faculty, and staff.

Video conferencing will not be used for personal calls.