Download

MISSION STATEMENT

The mission of the Bossier Parish Community College Learning Commons (LC) is to develop collections and services that support the mission of Bossier Parish Community College. We provide students, faculty, and staff with a caring and innovative learning environment with accessible resources and services that encourage and support educational goals to help build a community of engaged citizens.

GOALS

• Support lifelong learning and information literacy by instructing and assisting students, faculty, and staff in the use of authoritative information resources in individualized sessions and groups, including the use of remote technology
• Focus on the changing needs of users by providing seamless access to information when, where, and in the format desired
• Provide instructional materials and resources that support and complement the curricula of the college’s programs of study
• Be the hub of the BPCC community by providing and maintaining a safe, multifunctional environment conducive to study, research, and learning, and supportive of intellectual collaboration and social interaction
• Continue to modify materials and services to meet the evolving needs of the Learning Commons' users
• Evaluate, collect, and manage quality resources relevant to the educational needs of the Learning Commons’ users
• Provide qualified personnel and adequate staff to serve the BPCC community
• Solicit and secure financial support necessary for the continuation and expansion of services

INTRODUCTION

The Learning Commons provides services to the students, faculty, and staff of Bossier Parish Community College. When possible, the LC also serves the greater community.

Located on both the first and second floors of Building A, the Learning Commons is comprised of three main areas: Reference, Circulation, and The Tutoring Center. Within these areas are archives, 6 private study rooms, and the library classroom. All of the reservable spaces are equipped with computers for the users. Approximately 200 computers are available for use throughout the LC, installed with various programs that support the curriculum and information needs of students.

The Learning Commons currently houses over 90,000 cataloged items available for users to check out: books, textbooks, e-books, scientific and anatomical models, study materials, and audiovisual materials (DVD, Blu-Ray, and audio CD). The LC also provides online on-site and remote-user access to approximately 100 databases which contain millions of scholarly sources.

Professional librarians and staff members in the Learning Commons are readily available for research assistance. The Learning Commons offers instructional classes for all subjects. The Tutoring Center offers both peer and professional tutoring in a variety of subjects. Individual assistance is available to users in all spaces of the Learning Commons, including online.

The Learning commons provides remote support via both phone and chat. Also, virtual reference and tutoring appointments are available to the BPCC community. With a BPCC login, users can access electronic resources, such as journals and databases, from any computer with internet access.

The Learning Commons is a member of LALINC, Louisiana Academic Library Information Network Consortium. The affiliation with LALINC offers a way for students, faculty, and staff to borrow materials from other academic libraries in Louisiana. The Learning Commons is also a member of a consortium named LOUIS, the Louisiana Library Network, which provides the library with electronic access to a variety of databases and maintains the library’s bibliographic records.

PERSONNEL

All librarians, staff, tutors, and student workers report directly or indirectly to the Dean of Learning Resources. The Library Coordinator, Administrative Coordinator, and part-time librarians report directly to the Public Services Librarian. The Tutoring Center Assistant Manager and all tutors report directly to the Tutoring Center Manager.

To allow free communication among all Learning Commons personnel, the proper procedure is to speak with an immediate supervisor first. If this is not possible or appropriate, then speak with the Dean of Learning Resources. Any professional concerns will be communicated to library personnel through the Dean of Learning Resources, who will disseminate the information appropriately.

Student workers in the Learning Commons are hired depending upon their Federal Work Study eligibility. Student worker candidates need to complete an application through BPCC’s Career Services department. Prospective student workers are interviewed and selected by the Library Coordinator and Public Services Librarian. If hired to work in the LC, student authorization forms are sent to the Financial Aid department for approval signatures. Student workers in the LC report to the Library Coordinator.

Positions for tutors in the Tutoring Center are not dependent upon Financial Aid. Anyone can apply for the position of tutor, if they have completed the course they are applying to tutor with a grade of “B” or higher.  Prospective tutors are interviewed and selected by the Tutoring Center Manager and Assistant Manager. Tutors report to the Tutoring Center Manager.