LibGuides: Affordable Learning at BPCC: Instructors

Courses with Freely-Available eTextbooks:

Allied Health
- 112, ECG Notes: Interpretation and Management Guide
Communication
Computer Technology
- 250, Design patterns in C#
History
- 203, Louisiana: A History
Nursing
- 205, Calculating Drug Dosages
- 212, 222, 223, 224, 225
  - Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses
Occupational Therapy
- 210, Management and administration for the OTA
- 216, Occupational Therapy Interventions
Physical Therapy
- 205, Therapeutic Modalities
Speech
- 110, The Public Speaking Project
Surgical Technology
- 110, Surgical Technology Review
Theater

Have Questions?

BPCC Affordable Learning Ad-Hoc Committee

Rachel Basco, TEM
Tara Breeland-Southam, SNAH
Jonathan Brown, Liberal Arts
Gulnara Chandler, CAPA
Adrian Crawford, Learning Resources
Deanna Hardy, TEM
Wesley Hinze, Behavioral and Social Sciences
Adrian Johnson, Learning Resources
Roishene Johnson, SNAH
Laura Jones, Liberal Arts
Timothy Osteen, Learning Resources
Becky Turbeville, Business

College Open Textbooks
Find textbooks for Biology, Anatomy & Physiology, Genetics, Nursing, Health, First Aid, Nutrition, and more.
Galileo Open Learning Materials
Find textbooks and ancillary materials for Nursing, Nutrition, Physical Therapy, Biology, and Chemistry.
OpenStax
Find textbooks on Anatomy and Physiology, Biology, and Chemistry.

College Open Textbooks
Find textbooks on Accounting, Finance, Management, Ethics, Business Communication, and more.
Cool4Ed Course Showcase
Find links to textbooks on Accounting, Intro to Business, Business Communications, and more.

Includes course descriptions and links to textbooks from various publishers.
Galileo Open Learning Materials
Find textbooks and ancillary materials for Business Administration, Management, and Economics.
OpenStax
Find textbooks for Intro to Business and Business Ethics
Open Textbook Library
Find textbooks on Accounting, Finance, Human Resources, Management, and Marketing.

Cool4Ed Course Showcase
Find links to textbooks and course materials for Music, Public Speaking, and Mass Communication.
Galileo Open Learning Materials
Find textbooks and ancillary materials on Public Speaking, Technical Writing, and Music.
Open Textbook Library
Find textbooks on Film, Music, Theater, Media Studies, and Communication.

College Open Textbooks
Find textbooks on Composition and Writing, Literature, Fine Art, Photography, and Art History.
Cool4Ed Course Showcase
Find links to textbooks and course material for Art History, Writing and Composition, and Intro to Literature.
Galileo Open Learning Materials
Find textbooks and ancillary materials for Literature, Writing and Composition, and Intro to Fine Art.
Open SUNY Textbooks
Find textbooks on Poetry, Writing and Composition.
Open Textbook Library
Find textbooks on Writing and Composition, Reading, Grammar, and World Literature.
Open Anthology of Early American Literature
A digital collection of well-known and influential early American works.
PDXScholar
Find textbooks for ESL, and Writing and Composition.

College Open Textbooks
Find Textbooks for Biology, Chemistry, General Science, and Physics.
Cool4Ed Course Showcase
Find links to textbooks and ancillary materials for Biology, Chemistry, and Physical Geology.
Galileo Open Learning Materials
Find textbooks and ancillary materials for Biology, Chemistry, Geology, Physics and Astronomy.
OpenStax
Find textbooks on Anatomy and Physiology, Biology, Chemistry, Physics, and Astronomy.
Open Textbook Library
Find textbooks on Biology, Chemistry, and Physics.
PhET
Interactive simulations for science and math from the University of Colorado, Boulder.

College Open Textbooks
Find textbooks on anthropology, Education, History, Political Science, Psychology, and Sociology.
Cool4Ed Course Showcase
Find links to textbooks and ancillary materials for Education, History, Journalism, Geography, Government, Psychology, and Sociology.
Galileo Open Learning Materials
Find textbooks on Criminal Justice, Education, Geography, History, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, and Anthropology.
OpenStax
Find textbooks on Government, Psychology, Sociology, and History.
Open Textbook Library
Find textbooks on History, Journalism, Psychology, and Sociology.

American Institute of Mathematics
Courses range from pre-calculus to upper division analysis and algebra. All the books have been judged to meet the evaluation criteria set by the AIM editorial board.
College Open Textbooks
Find textbooks on Computer Science, Engineering, Electronics, Mathematics, Statistics and Probability.
Cool4Ed Course Showcase
Find links to textbooks and ancillary materials for Statistics, Mathematics, and Intro to Computer Science.
Galileo Open Learning Materials
Find textbooks for Calculus.
OpenStax
Find textbooks for Algebra, Trigonometry, Calculus, and Statistics.
Open SUNY Textbooks
Find textbooks for Logic, Mathematics, and Programming.
Open Textbook Library
Find textbooks on Computer Science, Engineering, and Mathematics.
PhET
Interactive simulations for science and math from the University of Colorado, Boulder.

Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new window
To Access e-books:
Go to the Bloom’s Literature database and click on “Browse” at the top. On the drop-down menu that appears click on “Literary Classics (Full Text)”. This will send you to a menu where you can see what classics are available through this database.
EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter.
Project Gutenberg This link opens in a new window
Project Gutenberg offers over 42,000 free ebooks: choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online.

Directory of Open Access Books
The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books. Books are academic, peer reviewed books in Open Access.

Add Your Class

Add your class to the count!

Remember, "affordable" dosen't equal open. If you are using a textbook that is made available at no cost to the students, we'd love to know about it. Simply, fill out the form in the link above to add your course to the list of courses that are helping students save money.

Discover Open Resources

Additional Resources and Repositories

OpenStax Partners
OpenStax Partners create optional low-cost technology products that are integrated with our OpenStax books.
OpenNow
Designed to help higher education institutions and instructors easily access and use OER, OpenNow delivers curriculum-aligned OER content on an intuitive, outcomes-based platform.
OER Commons
OER Commons is a public digital library of open educational resources. Explore, create, and collaborate with educators around the world to improve curriculum.
Open Culture
Open Culture brings together high-quality cultural & educational media for the worldwide lifelong learning community. Web 2.0 has given us great amounts of intelligent audio and video. It’s all free.
Galileo Open Learning Materials
GALILEO Open Learning Materials brings together open educational resources throughout the University System of Georgia, including open textbooks and ancillary materials.

Merlot II
Managed through the California State University System. Includes textbooks, case studies, assessment tools, online course modules, journal articles, quizzes, simulations and tutorials
MIT Open Courseware
MIT OpenCourseWare (OCW) is a web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content. OCW is open and available to the world and is a permanent MIT activity.
Open Culture
Open Culture is a collection of curated Textbooks, Online Courses, and other educational resources.
Open Education Consortium
A search engine, in collaboration with MERLOT to easily access OERs.
Saylor Academy Open Textbooks
The open textbooks on this page include several titles published through Saylor Academy’s Open Textbook Challenge and a collection of titles re-published by Saylor Academy in 2012. Saylor also published open courses.

Transform Your Course
LOUIS library consortium has put together several tools for finding quality Open Educational Resources.
Community College Consortium of OER
CCCOER is a growing consortium of community and technical colleges committed to expanding access to education and increasing student success through adoption of open educational policy, practices, and resources.
Affordable Learning Georgia
A University System of Georgia (USG) initiative to promote student success by providing affordable textbook alternatives
BCcampus Open Ed
BCcampus supports the post-secondary institutions of British Columbia as they adapt and evolve their teaching and learning practices to enable powerful learning opportunities for the students of British Columbia.
The Orange Grove
The Orange Grove repository is Florida's digital repository for instructional resources. The repository provides an environment for educators to search for, use, remix, share, and contribute educational resources. The repository can also be integrated with your Learning Management Systems (e.g. Canvas, Blackboard, Desire 2 Learn). Discover, contribute, and import repository resources directly from your LMS.

More Resources for Teachers

Rubric For Evaluating OER Textbooks
Created by BPCC's E-Textbook Initiative Committee, this rubric is designed to help teachers evaluate and compare open resources.

OERs and Accessibility
A BCcampus Open Education reference on how to make open textbooks accessible.