LibGuides: First Year Student Experience: MLA Citation Help

MLA Basics

MLA Style Center
Home page of the MLA website.
OWL Purdue MLA
MLA citation resources from OWL Purdue.

MLA Handbook by The Modern Language Association of America
Call Number: R 808.027 MLA
ISBN: 9781603293518
Publication Date: 2021-04-06

MLA Ninth Edition Changes
Introduces the major changes included in the update from 8th ed. to 9th ed. of MLA Style.

Formatting

MLA Sample Paper
This is an example MLA paper and how to format your document such as spacing, margins, abstract, etc.
Formatting a Research Paper
The most common formatting is presented here. Take note that your teacher may want to format your paper differently.

Citing Within Your Paper

MLA In-Text Citations: The Basics
How to properly cite a work by an author or multiple authors. Also includes: Unknown author, Organization as Author, Electronic Sources, and when a citation is not needed.
Shows what to do when you cite a source that was cited in another source.
MLA Formatting Quotations
How to quote material in your MLA paper. Short and long quotations.

Works Cited

MLA Works Cited Page: Basic Format
Short, basic information on how your Reference/Sources Page should be formatted.
***Explains new rule to MLA 8th Edition with online scholarly sources.
Anthology or Collection (Collection of Essays) MLA
Literary criticism reference books such as: Nineteenth Century Literature or Short Story Criticisms.
Electronic Resources (Web Publications)
(Ex: EBSCO and Artemis)
e-Book--MLA
A Work in a Collection or Anthology-MLA
How to cite a work (poem, essay, or short story) from a collection or anthology (like the reader from your English class).
How to Cite a Book--MLA
Basic format for books, edited book with no author, edited book with single or multiple authors, a translation, edition for a book other than the 1st edition, article or chapter in an edited book, multivolume work.
How to Cite an Online Work--MLA
***Use this guide to format your electronic scholarly journal articles using the heading, “Journal Article in a Database (EBSCO, Artemis, etc).”
How to Cite a Song, Recording, or Performance --MLA
MLA Works Cited: Other Common Sources
How to Cite a Movie, Video, or Television Show
How to Cite an Image--MLA

Citing Film & Movies

Citing Films or Movies

*Due to the formatting of this webpage, the hanging indentions are not included.

List films (in theaters or not yet on DVD or video) by their title. Include the name of the director, the film studio or distributor, and the release year. If relevant, list performer names after the director’s name. Use the abbreviation perf. to head the list. List film as the medium of publication. To cite a DVD or other video recording, see “Recorded Films and Movies” below.

The Usual Suspects. Dir. Bryan Singer. Perf. Kevin Spacey, Gabriel Byrn, Chazz Palminteri, Stephen Baldwin, and Benecio del Toro. Polygram, 1995. Film

To emphasize specific performers (perf.) or directors (dir.), begin the citation with the name of the desired performer or director, followed by the appropriate abbreviation.

Lucas, George, dir. Star Wars Episode IV: A New Hope. Twentieth Century Fox, 1977. Film.

Citing Recorded Films or Movies

List films by their title. Include the name of the director, the distributor, and the release year. If relevant, list performer names after the director’s name. Use the abbreviation perf. to head the list. End the entry with the appropriate medium of publication (e.g. DVD, VHS, Laser disc).

Ed Wood. Dir. Tim Burton. Perf. Johnny Depp, Martin Landau, Sarah Jessica Parker, Patricia Arquette. Touchstone, 1994. DVD.

Plagiarism

What is Plagiarism?

Merrian-Webster Dictionary defines plagiarism as:

stealing or passing off the ideas or words of another as your own.
using another's work without crediting the source.
committing literary theft.
presenting as new and original an idea or product derived from an existing source.

Visit these websites for more information on plagiarism and how to avoid it.

Plagiarism Prevention and Awareness

Plagiarism.org

Plagiarism: Avoid the Consequences

Plagiarism and Academic Dishonesty

Be very careful to cite sources correctly. Plagiarism and academic dishonesty is very serious!