Skip to main content

Biology (BLGY 230 & 231)

Subject Guide for Biology Classes


This guide will help you find scholarly print and online resources relevant to Biology and the Natural Sciences.

This guide is organized by pages along the left side. You can access all of the information on a page by scrolling or by clicking the links under each page.

The Home page will give you information on how to use the guide and basic information about the Library/Learning Commons.

This guide--and all library pages--are best viewed in Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome.

After this orientation students will be able to:

  • Describe the Learning Commons layout and basic library services (including research assistance).
  • Locate and access library materials and resources, both physical and digital.
  • Recognize print sources on Biology located in the Reference Section.
  • Illustrate the difference between journals and magazines for research.
  • Identify sources for MLA citation style
  • Understand and avoid plagiarism.
  • Determine how to evaluate sources for scholarly research.
Loading ...

About the Learning Commons

About the Learning Commons:

The BPCC Library/Learning Commons in located in Building A. The library owns over 45,000 items, including books, magazines, DVDs and Blu-Ray's, as well as a growing digital collection. Our electronic resources include indexes and databases which contain numerous newspaper articles. The BPCC Library is a member of the LOUIS consortium.

Computers in the Learning Commons allow access to the internet and various course-related software. Research assistance is available from professional librarians and staff members. Library instruction classes are offered for all courses.

Click Here for directions to campus and to the library.

Learning Commons Layout:

First Floor Second Floor

Information Desk

Instructional Classroom

Dean’s Office

Faculty/Staff Offices

Reference Collection

70 Computers

KIC Scanner


2 Printers

Reference Station


Quiet Study

Circulation Desk

Circulating Shelves

  • Fiction Collection
  • Non-Fiction Collection
  • Biography Collection
  • Story Collection
  • Juvenile Collection
  • Graphic Novels
  • Louisiana Collection
  • Oversized Collection

Audio-Visual Shelves

  • Fiction DVDs
  • Non-Fiction DVDs
  • Audio Books
  • CDs


3 Study Rooms, each with a computer

30 Computers


Tutoring Center (located on 2nd Floor):

Reserve Desk

Writing Support Services

Tutoring areas

Anatomy model cabinets

70 computers

3 Study Rooms with computer for each

KIC Scanner

2 Printers

Policy Information


Your BPCC student ID is required for services and resources in many areas of the Learning Commons, please have it with you at all times.

No food or drinks are allowed in the Learning Commons.

Please be respectful of others who are studying in the Learning Commons.


To find books and material that can be checked out, please look on the second floor of the Library. 

Textbooks/Reserves: Items on Reserve are available for use up to 2 hours in the Tutoring Center and may not be taken out of the Learning Commons.

Books: Up to 20 at a time for 14 days.

DVDs, BluRays: Up to 2 at a time for 3 days.

Renew: You can renew your items. Renew items by accessing  your account or by visiting the Learning Commons in person.

For information about all of the Learning Common's policies, check the Library's FAQ page.


Printing is limited to 300 pages of research and classroom related material per student per month. So, please try to limit the amount of paper you print. 

Go Green Icon


To help reduce the amount of print jobs:

  • Print on both sides of the paper 
  • Utilize the Print Preview option instead of printing a test page
  • Print Power Point presentations 3 slides to a page or more
  • Reduce your font size (only if your assignment allows)

    Printers are located on both floors of the Learning Commons and in the Tutoring Center.