Skip to main content

Nursing

Course Guide for Nursing Students.

Allied Health Databases

The following are good resources to find information on Allied Health: 

 

 

Search the Online Catalog for resources in the library:

To search for all types of resources at once (books, journals, periodicals, etc.) click "All Resources" below the search button.

Search Type:




Search For:

Search By:

CINAHL Complete, MEDLINE, and Biological Abstracts 1969-Present are all EBSCO databases on the ESBCOhosts platform. Use the training material on EBSCO for search tips on this page. CINAHL Complete also provides specific search tips for that database available on this page.

ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health Source is provided by ProQuest. Training material for this database is also provided on this page.

 

Tutorials for EBSCO can be found on the Need Help? page.

Loading

Helpful Hints

Having problems finding information? Try searching:

 
  1. Specific disease or disorder (Ex. Diabetes) 
  2. The area of the body affected (Ex. Kidney)
  3. Medical encyclopedias (Ex. Gale's Encyclopedia of Medicine)

           

Allied Health Tutorials

Nursing & Allied Health Database by ProQuest

This database provides users with reliable healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more. This versatile database is designed to meet the needs of researchers at healthcare facilities as well as nursing and allied health programs at academic institutions.

Below are training videos provided by ProQuest on how to perform a Basic SearchAdvanced Search, and working with the Search Results page.

Loading

Off-Campus Access Instructions

Remote Access to the Databases, Online Catalog and eBooks from the BPCC Library Webpage

Note: New student’s accounts may not be active on the first few days of classes. If new students need to access the databases from off campus before that time, they may contact the BPCC Library at 678-6275.

How to Access the Databases Remotely (Off-Campus)

  1. Open your browser and go to the BPCC Library website: www.bpcc.edu/bpcclibrary/
  2. On the Library’s webpage, click on the “Databases” tab (in the "Research" box).
  3. Select your database from the drop-down menu or click "All Resources" below to search the catalog and multiple databases at once.
  4. If you are logging in from off-campus, your User ID is LoLA User Name. Your PIN is your 6 digit birth date (mmddyy).   
  5. More information available at: www.bpcc.edu/bpcclibrary/loginassistance.html

BPCC Library Online Catalog

Use the BPCC Library Online Catalog to search for items in the BPCC Library. A search box for the Online Catalog is available on the library homepage www.bpcc.edu/bpcclibrary/. There is no need to login when searching the catalog. If you wish to view your Library account, click on My Account and login. Your user ID is your LoLA UserName Your PIN is your 6 digit birthday. The My Account feature allows you to view due dates on items you have checked out and to place holds on needed items.

Steps to Find, View & Print eBooks

  1. Open the Library’s Online Catalog.
  2. Click on the eBooks search to search for specific titles, subjects of all EBooks.
  3. In the full view of the record (click on the Title), click on the link (URL).
  4. When the window containing the eBook opens, click on the “e-Book Full Text” link.
  5. To Print a Page, view a page and then print it using the print button. You may also highlight a section to print.
  6. Only one person can view an eBook simultaneously.

 

Note: You cannot print the entire eBook due to copyright restrictions.

For more information on finding your LoLA username, click here.

Textbooks on Reserve

Stack of booksAny textbooks that an instructor has placed on reserve for student use is located in the Tutoring Center. 

To see if the textbook you need is on reserve, search for the title in the box below or click Reserve Desk.

Check-out time for books on reserve is limited to 2 hours.

Your BPCC Student ID is needed to check out a book on reserve.

Search Type:




Search For:

Search By: