Skip to main content

Allied Health: Databases

This research guide will aid you in finding scholarly print and online sources pertaining to allied health and medical topics.

Home

Allied Health

How To Use This Guide

This guide will aid you in finding scholarly print and online sources pertaining to allied health topics including, but not limited to:

Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, Respiratory Therapy, Paramedics, Pharmacy, Phlebotomy, Surgical Technology, Medical Office/ Medical Coding, Medical Assistant

A separate subject guide for Nursing students is now available.

The guide is organized by red tabs that serve as pages. Click on each red tab above to uncover information. Scroll your browser down to view all available information on each page.

It is best to view this guide on Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome web browser. Make sure pop-off blocker is turned off when viewing Subject Guides and BPCC Databases and e-Books!

Great for distant education students who may not have direct access to the physical resources in the library. We offer a variety of e-resources that are in this guide. Distance Education.

All students are encouraged to use the "Need Help?" tab to contact the library directly by phone or email.  

 

 

Objectives

Objectives

After this Orientation, students will be able to:

  1. Describe the Learning Commons layout and basic library services
  2. Locate physical materials in the library and e-books using the online catalog
  3. Access journal articles from the online database
  4. Recognize print sources on allied health information located in the Reference Section
  5. Identify sources for appropriate citation style and how to avoid plagiarism
  6. Determine how to effectively evaluate correct sources for scholarly research
  7. Understand where to go for more research assistance

Like us on Facebook

Learning Commons Hours

         

Library & Tutoring Center Hours

Fall 2016 Semester:

  • Monday-Thurs.      7am - 8:00pm
  • Friday                    7am - 4:30pm
  • Sat. and Sun.        Closed
  • Please note: the Tutoring Center, Second Floor, and Study Areas close 15 minutes before the library closes.       

Fall 2016 Semester Holidays:

The Library and the Tutoring Center will be closed for the following holidays:

  • Labor Day:  Monday, Sept. 5, 2016
  • Thanksgiving Break:  Thursday and Friday, November 24 and 25, 2016
  • Christmas & New Year's Break:  Tuesday, Dec. 20, 2016 to Monday, Jan. 2, 2017

Systems Librarian

Debra Harmon
Contact:
6220 E. Texas St
Bossier City, LA 71111
Office A-143
(318) 678-6143

Site Maintenance

Broken Link? Page not loading? 

Let us know!

Click here to email the webmaster!

About the Library

Mission Statement

MISSION STATEMENT

The mission of the BPCC Learning Commons is to provide library resources and services to support the mission and goals of Bossier Parish Community College.

ABOUT THE LIBRARY/ LEARNING COMMONS

The BPCC Library is located in Building A (facing Texas Street). The Library is open over 70 hours each week. The Library owns over 45,000 items, including books, magazines, audiovisual materials (DVDs, CDs, videos and audio cassettes) and microfiche. Current newspapers are available. The Library offers access to a variety of electronic resources including indexes and databases which contain numerous newspaper and journal articles. The BPCC Library is a member of the LOUISWill open new browser window or tab consortium.

Computer in the Learning Commons allow access to the internet and various course-related software. Research assistance is available from professional librarians and staff members. Library instruction classes are offered for all courses. Individual assistance is available.

Floor Guide

The Library has undergone renovations from Spring 2015 to a Ribbon Cutting in Fall 2015. There have been changes in the library that not all students are made aware. The library is now called the Learning Commons with our layout changed to better connect our students to their resources. Below is a summary of what the renovated Learning Commons has to offer:

Learning Commons First Floor:

Information Desk

Instructional Classroom

Dean’s Office

Faculty/Staff Offices

Reference Collection Shelves

70 computers

KIC Scanner

Photocopier

2 Printers

Learning Commons Second Floor:

Quiet Study

Circulation Desk

Circulating Shelves

  • Fiction Collection
  • Nonfiction Collection
  • Biography Collection
  • Story Collection
  • Juvenile Collection
  • Graphic Novels
  • Louisiana Collection
  • Oversized Collection

Audio-Visual Shelves

  • Fiction DVDs (Movies)
  • Nonfiction DVDs
  • Audiobooks
  • CDs

Periodicals (Newspapers, Magazines, Journals)

3 Study rooms with computer for each

30 computers

Printer

Tutoring Center (located on 2nd Floor):

Reserve Desk

Writing Support Services

Tutoring areas

Anatomy model cabinets

70 computers

3 Study Rooms with computer for each

KIC Scanner

2 Printers

Library Policies

Printing Procedures

Printers

Printers are located on both floors of the Learning Commons.

Printing is limited to 300 pages of research and classroom related material per student per month. 

Your printing account is already set up with the library.

Please go green and try to limit the amount of paper you print.

To help reduce the amount of print jobs:

  • Print on both sides of the paper 
  • Utilize the Print Preview option instead of printing a test page
  • Print Power Point presentations 3 slides to a page or more
  • Reduce your font size (only if your assignment allows)

Circulation Policies

Quick Info: Circulation Policies

  • Books (Fiction, Nonfiction, Biography, Short Story, and LA collection only):
    • 14 days
  • Audio-visual Material
    • CD-ROMs and DVDs:
      • 3 days, may be renewed for an additional 3 days
    • Audio CDs (music and audio books):
      • 14 days
  • Reserve Material 
    • Textbooks on Reserve are available for use up to 2 hours in the Tutoring Center and may not be taken out of the Learning Commons.

Can I renew my items?

  • You can Renew your items!
  • Books may be renewed by accessing your account through the Review my AccountWill open new browser window or tabfeature or by visiting the Learning Commons in person.
  • Books may be renewed up to two times
  • Audio-visual items may be renewed once.
  • Reserve materials can only be renewed for 2 additional hours.

More info on circulation policies can be found on the Learning Commons FAQs page.

Tutoring Center

The Tutoring Center & Writing Support Services

The Tutoring Center

Located 2nd Floor of Learning Commons (Building A)

The Tutoring Center provides free tutoring in math, English, computer information system, and the sciences on a first-come-first-served basis. 

Peer Writing Tutors are also available to help with your writing through Writing Support Services.

You may also submit an assignment electronically through our Writing Support Services page. 

Note: when citing in your research paper or project, be sure to double check with your instructor/professor on their use of MLA and APA citations. 

Hours for the Tutoring

Fall and Spring semesters:

Monday-Thursday 7 am- 8 pm

Friday 7 am- 4:30 pm

Summer semester:

Monday-Thursday 7 am- 7 pm

Friday 7 am- 4:30 pm

(Tutors are not available on Fridays during the Summer semester.)

Visit the Learning Commons homepage for specific holiday closures.

Tutors are available on a first-come, first-serve basis. We strive to always have someone available to assist you.

Please call (318) 678-6059 for any questions. 

Resources

Resources in the Tutoring Center include all the models and equipment that support hands-on learning:

  • Anatomy resources
  • Calculators
  • Allied Health, Math, Nutrition, and Science DVDs
  • 3 Microscopes with slides
  • 3 Study rooms
  • Vernier Caliper and Depth Measuring Device

Click on the Resources page to find more equipment in the Tutoring Center.

Writing Support Services

Need Help With Your Paper?

Visit the Tutoring Center!

Submit your paper online for Peer Writing Tutors to review for FREE!

Visit BPCC Online Writing Services, and click on the "Submit an Assignment" button and follow the directions. Please allow up to 48 hours for a response (Monday through Friday). For help, contact the Tutoring Center at 318-678-6059.

Prep for Your Tutoring Session

 

What you can expect from a tutoring session:

  • The tutor’s purpose is to help you help yourself, to assist you so that you can become an independent learner.

In order to receive the maximum benefit from your tutoring session:

  • Be prepared by bringing all materials (textbook, notes, homework, pen/pencil, etc.).
  • Do as much of the homework or assignment for the course before the tutorial session.
  • Get help early. Do not wait until the last minute before class.
  • During busy times, tutors may get you started, then help someone else, then come back to you.
  • If a tutor forgets to return and you still need help, please give them a courteous reminder.
  • Be considerate of other student’s needs and do not monopolize the tutor’s time.
  • No Eating, drinking, or using tobacco products.
  • Cell phones must be silent and any calls must be taken outside.

Tutors can:

  • Review and help clarify assignments.
  • Help you understand concepts that the instructor has already presented in class.
  • Provide you with additional examples and practice problems.
  • Help you understand the textbook and utilize the information.

Tutors cannot:

  • Teach new material missed in class.
  • Always give assistance at the computer stations. The majority of tutoring takes place at the tables.
  • Do your homework for you.

 

For more details please click on What To Expect in a Tutoring Session.  

The Tutoring Center cannot guarantee an error-free assignment or a better grade. It is still your responsibility to do the work.

Reserves

Select Allied Health Textbooks on Reserve

Reserves

What are books on Reserve?

  • Textbooks and other materials for classes are sometimes put on Reserve and are available for a shorter loan period so that everyone in the class can use them.
  • The Tutoring Center has many textbooks on reserve, but not necessarily all of them.
  • The loaning time period for a reserve book is 2 hours and must not leave the Learning Commons.
  • Your BPPC student ID is needed to check out a book on reserve.

Reserve materials are located in the Tutoring Center.

(2nd floor of the Learning Commons.)

Scanning and Copying

You have two options when making copies of reserve or reference materials: scanning and copying. There is a scanner and a copier on the first floor of the Library. The Tutoring Center also has a scanner.

Scanners

 

  • Use of the scanners is free
  • The scanners give you the option of either uploading your document to a flash-drive or emailing it to yourself. 
  • If you want hard copies, you can log on to any of the computers in the Learning Commons and use your free printing. 

Copy Machine

     

  • Copies are $0.10 a page and require the use of a copy card. Copy cards are available for $0.50 and are reusable, so users may add additional money to their card. 
  • The copy card machine does not accept change or cards, only cash. 

Online Catalog

Online Catalog

Search the Online Catalog:

Search Type:




Search For:

Search By:

Searching the Onlne Catalog Video Tutorial (Basic Search)

Select Medical Assisting Books

Select Medical Office & Coding Books

Select Surgical Technology Books

Helpful Hints

Having problems finding information? Try searching:

  1. Specific disease or disorder (Ex. Diabetes) 
  2. The area of the body affected (Ex. Kidney)
  3. Medical encyclopedias (Ex. Gale's Encyclopedia of Medicine)

           

Select Occupational Therapy Books

Select Phlebotomy Books

Select Books on Paramedic Practices

Browse the Shelves

These call numbers should help you in browse the shelves.

174 Economic & professional ethics 
600 Technology (Applied sciences)
609 Historical, areas, persons treatment 
610 Medicine 
611 Human anatomy, cytology, histology 
612 Human physiology 
613 Promotion of health 
614 Disease prevention
615 Pharmacology
616 Diseases 
617 Surgery & related medical specialties 
618 Gynecology & other medical specialties 
619 Experimental medicine

Select Physical Therapy Books

Select Respiratory Therapy Books

Select Pharmacy Books

Databases

Allied Health and Medical Databases

Best Bets

 

 

Other Helpful Databases

Video Tutorials

Remote Access Instructions

Remote Access to the Databases, Online Catalog and e-books from the BPCC Library Webpage

Note: New student’s accounts may not be active on the first few days of classes. If new students need to access the databases from off campus before that time, they may contact the BPCC Library at 678-6275.

How to Access the Databases Remotely (Off-Campus)

  1. Open your browser and go to the BPCC Library website: www.bpcc.edu/bpcclibrary/

  2. On the Library’s webpage, hover the cursor over “Databases” link (left side of page).

  3. Select your search method: Alpha by Title, by Subject, by Vendor.

  4. If you are logging in from off-campus, your User ID is LoLA User Name. Your PIN is you 6 digit birth date formatted mmddyy.

    More information available at: www.bpcc.edu/bpcclibrary/loginassistance.html

BPCC Library Online Catalog

Use the BPCC Library Online Catalog to search for items in the BPCC Library. A search box for the Online Catalog is available on the library homepage www.bpcc.edu/bpcclibrary/. There is no need to login when searching the catalog. If you wish to view your Library account, click on My Account and login. Your user ID is your LoLA UserName Your PIN is your 6 digit birthday. The My Account feature allows you to view due dates on items you have checked out and to place holds on needed items.

Steps to Find, View & Print e-Books

  1. Open the Library’s Online Catalog.

  2. Click on the EBooks search to search for specific titles, subjects of all EBooks.

  3. In the full view of the record (click on the Details button), click on the link (URL) in the WEB field.

  4. When the window containing the EBook opens, click on the “e-Book Full Text” link.

  5. To Print a Page, view a page and then print it using the print button. You may also highlight a section to print.

 

Only one person can view an e-Book simultaneously.

Note: You cannot print the entire e-Book due to copyright restrictions.

Reference Books

Reference Books

Citation & Plagiarism

Citations

Books on Citing

Writing Support Services

Need Help With Your Paper?

Visit the Tutoring Center!

Submit your paper online for Peer Writing Tutors to review for FREE!

Visit BPCC Online Writing Services, and click on the "Submit an Assignment" button and follow the directions. Please allow up to 48 hours for a response (Monday through Friday). For help, contact the Tutoring Center at 318-678-6059.

Avoiding Plagiarism

Avoiding Plagiarism

Merrian-Webster Dictionary defines plagiarism as:

  • stealing or passing off the ideas or words of another as your own
  • using another's work without crediting the source
  • committing literary theft
  • presenting as new and original an idea or product derived from an existing source

Visit Plagiarism Prevention and Awareness for more information on how to avoid plagiarism. 

Another good website is www.plagiarism.org for information on plagiarism.

New to our Subject Guides! Visit the online site, A Student's Guide on Avoiding Plagiarism, provided by Center for Online Education.

Plagiarism and Academic Dishonesty

MLA Style Center has great web resource on Plagiarism and Academic Dishonesty. (Although published by MLA, this resources can also be used for papers using the APA citation style.)

Topics include:

  • What is Plagiarism?
  • What Makes Plagiarism a Serious Offense?
  • What Does Plagiarism Look Like?
  • Is it possible to plagiarize yourself?
  • How Can You Avoid Plagiarism?
  • Does Absence of Documentation Indicate Plagiarism? (Information and ideas that are common knowledge among your readers need not be documented.)

Off Campus Access

Remote Access Instructions

Remote Access to the Databases, Online Catalog and e-books from the BPCC Library Webpage

Note: New student’s accounts may not be active on the first few days of classes. If new students need to access the databases from off campus before that time, they may contact the BPCC Library at 678-6275.

How to Access the Databases Remotely (Off-Campus)

  1. Open your browser and go to the BPCC Library website: www.bpcc.edu/bpcclibrary/

  2. On the Library’s webpage, hover the cursor over “Databases” link (left side of page).

  3. Select your search method: Alpha by Title, by Subject, by Vendor.

  4. If you are logging in from off-campus, your User ID is LoLA User Name. Your PIN is you 6 digit birth date formatted mmddyy.

    More information available at: www.bpcc.edu/bpcclibrary/loginassistance.html

BPCC Library Online Catalog

Use the BPCC Library Online Catalog to search for items in the BPCC Library. A search box for the Online Catalog is available on the library homepage www.bpcc.edu/bpcclibrary/. There is no need to login when searching the catalog. If you wish to view your Library account, click on My Account and login. Your user ID is your LoLA UserName Your PIN is your 6 digit birthday. The My Account feature allows you to view due dates on items you have checked out and to place holds on needed items.

Steps to Find, View & Print e-Books

  1. Open the Library’s Online Catalog.

  2. Click on the EBooks search to search for specific titles, subjects of all EBooks.

  3. In the full view of the record (click on the Details button), click on the link (URL) in the WEB field.

  4. When the window containing the EBook opens, click on the “e-Book Full Text” link.

  5. To Print a Page, view a page and then print it using the print button. You may also highlight a section to print.

 

Only one person can view an e-Book simultaneously.

Note: You cannot print the entire e-Book due to copyright restrictions.

Research 101

Journals vs. Popular Magazines

Journals vs. Popular Magazines  

What is a Periodical? A periodical is any source that is published at regular intervals, such as daily, weekly, monthly, etc. They can be journals, magazines, newspapers, etc. Periodicals can be popular or scholarly in nature.

  • What is a Scholarly Periodical? It is an academic journal; a published work of a particular discipline or subject written by a scholar or person of expertise. Used for teaching, continual learning, and professional development. Generally called a journal.  

  • What is a Popular Periodical? Sports, Hobbies, Lifestyle, etc. Appealing to or intended for the general public; liked by many people. Generally called a magazine.
     

Periodicals can also be located on databases and the web: these criteria may be applied to the online version of print periodicals, web-based electronic periodicals as well as the traditional print magazines and journals.

NOTE: As you read through the following criteria for journals and magazines, realize that none of the differential characteristics between journals and magazines can ever be totally clear cut.

Journals:

  • Journals are often referred to as "scholarly.” They have a very serious appearance, with many graphs and charts, but few glossy pages or exciting pictures.
  • Scholarly journals always cite their sources in the form of footnotes or bibliographies (references, sources).
  • The articles are written by a scholar in the field or by someone who has done research in the field. The credentials of these individuals are always given.
  • The articles are usually long, anywhere from 3-5 pages, or 5-10 pages.
  • The language or terminology of scholarly journals is that of the discipline covered. It assumes some scholarly background on the part of the reader.
  • The main purpose of a scholarly journal is to report on original research or experimentation in order to make such information available to the rest of the scholarly world.
  • Many of the scholarly are published by a specific professional organizations.

Magazines:

  • Magazines are often referred to as "popular.” They come in many formats, although often quite attractive in appearance, with many photographs, drawings, etc. They also contain several advertisements.
  • Magazines rarely cite sources. Information published is often second or third hand, and the original source is sometimes obscure.
  • Articles are usually very short, written in a simple language, and are designed to meet an average educational level.
  • Popular magazines appeal to a wide range of people (any age group).
  • The main purpose of popular magazines is to entertain the reader, to sell products, and to promote a viewpoint.

Examples of Specialized Journals

Examples of Specialized Journals

JAMA: The Journal of the American Medical Association 
The Modern Language Journal 
Journal of Wildlife Diseases 
Journal of Educational Research 
Journal of Humanistic Psychology

People Weekly 
Time 
Newsweek 
Sports Illustrated 
Good Housekeeping 
Business Week

 

 

Evaluating Sources

Evaluating the Credibility of Your Sources

Your use of sources is a means of supporting the argument you make in your research paper. The sources you reference need to be credible and authoritative. How do you know that your sources are of value? Ask yourself the following questions:

Authority: What credentials are listed for the author? Where was the source published?

  • Is the author affiliated with a university or another institution? What else has the author written?
  • What are his/her credentials? Are they qualified? Expertise in this field? There are many articles published claiming to be scholarly work by individuals claiming expertise but are of highly questionable credibility.
  • Is it peer-reviewed? Peer-reviewed scholarly work provides greater credibility to the publication.
  • Was the source published on-line? Check the URL for the domain. This can help you determine the origin of the document, for example whether it is produced by a federal or local agency, a nonprofit organization or a commercial web site. A web site on a university or institution's server is more likely to be a reliable objective source than one on a commercial site. Be wary of websites where the name of the author cannot be found.
  • NOTE: A journal article found online through a database is NOT a web resource.

Objectivity (or Tone): What is the purpose of the website?

  • What goals/objectives does the page meet? Determine if the page is a mask for advertising; if yes, then the information could be biased.
  • A writer’s tone of how he/she writes is evidence of respect for the research process and for the opinions of others. Be wary of writers who express their views in an angry tone.

Currency: Is the piece timely and appropriate for its field?

  • Material can become outdated very quickly. You should search for additional texts on the topic to find related sources, sources in which this source is cited, and sources that cite this source in order to get a stronger picture of its intellectual relevance and value.
  • Be aware of when the web page was created and how recently it's been updated. Outdated information and broken links indicate that the page is not being maintained.

Audience: For whom is the source written?

  • Is the intended audience a scholarly one? If so, it should have a clear bibliography that you will also be able to consult for further sources.
  • References and links to other sources can add to a document's credibility.

Healthcare Careers

Preparing for Certification Exams

Books on Healthcare Careers

Need Help?

Reference

 Where to go for help: 

1. In Person: The Reference Desk is located on the 1st floor of the Library. Reference librarians are on duty to  assist in finding materials,using reference material, searching the electronic journal indexes or any other research needs.

2.) By Phone: 318-678-6042

3.) By email: refdesk@bpcc.edu