Skip to main content

Literature (ENGL courses): Databases (Journal Articles)

Literature Databases

The following 3 databases below are your best bets to find information on literature.


 

 

These databases below are also good research tools on literature topics.

Everything EBSCO! Using EBSCOhost Databases

Searching EBSCO Databases on the EBSCOhost platform

EBSCOhost is a highly popular search interface platform used by many four-year universities, graduate schools, and now community colleges. It is designed to power a vast amount of databases where the researcher can search for scholarly sources. You can search one database that is powered by EBSCOhost, or you can search multiple databases simultaneously. It's also user-friendly! All EBSCOhost databases hold similar search and advanced search options. Once you learn one EBSCOhost database, you will have a greater aptitude to master them all! 

For a list of the databases powered by EBSCOhost offered by BPCC Learning Commons, click on EBSCOhost Database List.

The following video tutorials below are provided by EBSCO Support Services. Click on EBSCOhost Research Database Tutorials to find more videos!

Remote Access Instructions

Are you off campus?

Enter your LOLA username and 6 digit birth date (MMDDYY) to gain access to BPCC databases. 

Click on the "Off Campus Access Instructions" tab of this guide or click on the PDF document below for more details. 

How to search in the Gale Literary Index

How to get to the Gale Literary Index

The Gale Literary Index gives you a list of printed resources in the library to find information on your literary work.

 

1. Go to the BPCC Library webpage at bpcc.edu/library

2. Under the research box, click on the yellow tab, Databases by Subject

3. On the “Databases by Subject” box, click Literature

4. Under the Literature list, click Gale Literary Index

5. Select Title Search

6. Click on the second option circle, Match all words entered

7. Enter the title of your work in the search box and click on search

8. Print your results to take to the library

Artemis Database Tip Sheets

                          

Use this tip sheet from Gale/ CENGAGE Learning for search tips and other features in the Artemis Literary Sources database

PDF Link below

Video Tutorials for Artemis Literary Sources

The following video tutorials are produced by Gale/ CENGAGE Learning for the Artemis Literary Sources database.  

Searching the Artemis database:

 

Using Term Frequency and Topic Finder in Artemis: 

 

Working with Documents in Artemis: